Page Numbering in MS Word

image

My Ignorance!
While in my final year in the university, I had to do a final year project (like we all do) but much more to write a report of the project. My project report was over a 100 pages which included as requested…the Title Page, Acknowledgment, Dedication, List of figures, List of tables, List of Abbreviations, Table of Content, Abstract; then Chapters 1-5, Conclusion, Bibliography! (I hope I didn’t miss out any critical section). The most challenging part of compiling my report was Numbering the entire work in a single document! You know, I had an easy way out but it was only a display of my ignorance.

What did I do?
I actually needed no page number on my title page, I wanted roman numerals (starting from ‘i’ to maybe ‘ix’) on my introductory pages and finally numbers (starting from 1 to maybe 94) on the body of the report. So, I created my title page separately, and then my Introductory pages (Acknowledgment to Abstract) also separately and finally the body of my work (Chapters 1 to Bibliography) as a separate document. So in all, I had three separate documents for one work! I then numbered each document as I needed. Brilliant… isn’t it? Yes! but if only I knew what I know now!

The Solution!!!
This write-up will therefore, attempt to teach you how to put Page Numbers to your report as a single document; with no number on your title page, roman numerals on your Introductory pages and then Numeric figures on the body of your work.

Doing this is as simple as 1, 2 and 3!
Step 1: Locate and Open Document
Step 2: Insert Section Breaks
Step 3: Insert Page numbers

I decided to help you with a document I created; Click here to view the document in pdf. So from now on, put page numbers to your word document as you desire.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Page Numbering in MS Word

  1. Pingback: Page Numbering in MS Word | All4krist

Leave a comment

